Ecuador Facts – 67 Interesting Facts About Ecuador

Ecuador Interesting Facts

Ecuador is one of the 3 countries that were created in 1830, after the collapse of Gran Colombia.

Rose is the national flower of Ecuador.

Voting is mandatory to citizens aged between 18-65 in Ecuador.

Ecuador and Peru had a long-standing border conflict, which finally ended in 1999.

The first female president, Rosalia Arteaga served for only 2 days.

Two of the native languages spoken in Ecuador are Quechua and Shuar.

Ecuador was part of the Inca Empire until 1533 when Spanish conquered them.

Quito became the Spanish governments colonial seat in 1563, and then it became a part of New Granda in 1717.

New Granda then became independent between 1819 and 1822, and formed a short-lived republic called Gran Columbia (1819-1830).

Gran Columbia included Colombia, Panama, Venezuela and Ecuador.